Article Image Alt Text

Pictured from left to right are the Evangeline Parish 4-H Senior Award winners Drew Latour, Madison Fontenot, Alyson Fontenot, Callie Pitre, Tara Fontenot, and Jamerson LeDay. (Gazette photo by Tony Marks)

Head, heart, hands, health on display

Evangeline Parish 4-H announces its award recipients

Students from around Evangeline Parish were recognized Tuesday night for their achievements in the 4-H Club. The Award’s Night was held at the Northside Civic Center in Ville Platte.
The 4-H Member of the Year Award went to Madison Fontenot. She was also recognized as Junior Leader President, Senior Member, and Citizenship Board Member.
Fontenot, as a senior member, received her chord during the presentation. Other seniors receiving their chords were Alyson Fontenot, Tara Fontenot, Drew Latour, Jamerson LeDay, and Callie Pitre.
Receiving Awards for competing in the State Shooting Sports were Trey Bieber, Andrew Fontenot, Lance Fontenot, Benjamin Romero, and JT Thrasher.
State Ambassadors were also recognized. They were Brandon Fontenot, Gabriel Fontenot, Tucker Fontenot, Ellen Deshotel, and Emily Deshotel.
The Sewing with Cotton and Spring Cotton Clothing awards went to Ellen Deshotel, Emily Deshotel, Iyona Freeman, Ava Newman, and Mena Newman.
Several scholarships were also given. Callie Pitre received the Foundation Scholarship and Alyson Fontenot and Tara Fontenot received the Scott Truck and Tractor Scholarships. Pitre was also recognized for being a Shooting Sports Board Member.
Trey Bieber was also recognized for Achievement Day Contest.
Ellen Deshotel received honors for Recycled Denim Clothing Contest; Achievement Day Contest; Parish Grand Champion (Brahman Bull); Grand Champion Jr. Beef Showman; District Reserve Grand Champion LA Bred (Beef). Her sister Emily was recognized for Recycled Denim Clothing Contest; Achievement Day Contest; Parish Reserve Grand Champion (Beef).
Alyson Fontenot, besides being honored as a senior member, was also honored for Executive Board Member and District Reserve Grand Champion (Beef).
Brandon and Tucker Fontenot were also presented awards for being Parish Grand Champions (Beef).
Gabriel Fontenot was also recognized as participating in the Achievement Day Contest.
Besides receiving an award for Spring Clothing Contest, Iyana Freeman was honored for Achievement Day Contest.
Senor, Drew Latour, received honors for Achievement Day Contest and SET Board Member.
Fellow senior, Jemerson LeDay, was also honored for Parish Grand Champion Senior Swine Showman.
While being recognized for Sew with Cotton and Spring Clothing Contest, Ava Newman and Mena Newman also received honors for Recycled Denim Clothing Contest; Achievement Day Contest; Parish Cookery Contest; Keep Evangeline Beautiful Poster Contest.
Benjamin Romero from the State Shooting Sports Team was also honored for Grand Champion Jr. Broiler Showman.
Leah Hollier was presented with her 15-year pin as Leader of Ville Platte High 4-H.
Outstanding Leader of the Year honors went to Jade Doucet from W.W. Stewart Elementary.
Farm Bureau received the award for Outstanding Business Supporter of the Year.

Evangeline Today

145 Court St.
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-3939
Fax: 337-363-2841