Article Image Alt Text

Ville Platte High awards athletes at annual ceremony

On Wednesday night, Ville Platte High honored their athletes and their accomplishments during the 2018-2019 season during their annual athletic awards ceremonies.
The Bulldogs and Lady Bulldogs had a lot to celebrate, with several teams bringing home some substantial hardware.
In football, Ville Platte appeared in the first round of the playoffs once again. In boy’s basketball, the Bulldogs took home the district title and found themselves in the state semi-finals before bowing out.
The Ville Platte High girl’s basketball team were district runners-up and made it to the first round of the post-season. The Lady Bulldog softball team had one of their best seasons in 22 years, coming out third in district and making it to round two of the Class 2A playoffs.
The girls’ track team secured a district championship this past season and sent several athletes to the regional meet. The boy’s track team also had a strong showing at the regional meet and put two athletes in the state meet. Ville Platte High baseball played some very tight games this season with a number of young underclassmen.
Here is a list of the individual award winners from the different sports.
Football- Most Valuable Player, Travion Ardoin; Offensive Player of the Year, Jahmal Byers; Defensive Player of the Year, Kyle Williams; Most Promising, Tyler Jones; Hardest Worker, Quincy Bias; Best All-Around, Brandon Veazie; Leadership Award, Ernest Roberts; Best Defensive Lineman, Alex Griffith; Best Linebacker, Montique Goudy, Jr.; Best Offensive Lineman, Dave Arvie; Best Offensive Back, Terrian Roy; Coach’s Award, Jadon Bellard; Scholastic Award, Colby Lafleur; Senior Trainer, McKenzie Walker.
Boy’s Basketball- Most Valuable Players, Jahmal Byers and Ernest Roberts; Best Offensive Player, Tyler Jones; Best Defensive Player, Brandon Veazie; Best All-Around, Terrian Roy; Most Improved, Davonte Robert; Most Promising; RJ Williams; 6th Man Award, Tye’Wuan Byers; Scholastic Award, Colby Lafleur.
Girl’s Basketball- Most Valuable Player, Trinity Leday; Best Defensive Player, Kaydan Coward; Best All-Around, Alyssa Soileau; Most Promising, Tahjalyn Jack; Big Heart Award, Alyssa Fontenot; 6th Man Offensive Award, Vandryua Wilson; 6th Man Defensive Award, Janiya Fontenot; Scholastic Award, Kaydan Coward.
Baseball- Best Offense, Noah Doucet; Best Defense, Leslie Foreman; Most Promising, Bastian Veillon; Hardest Worker, Monty Fontenot and Tucker Royer; Most Improved, Jaekwon Fontenot; Scholastic Award, Leslie Foreman.
Softball- Most Valuable Player, Hanna Monier; Coach’s Award, McKenzie Walker; Most Promising, Hailey Bordelon; Best Offense, Madison Monier; Hardest Worker, Madison Monier; Most Improved, Justine Ardoin; Scholastic Award, McKenzie Walker.
Boy’s Track- Most Valuable Player, Alex Soileau; Coach’s Award, Terrian Roy; Best Track, Trayvence Thomas; Best Field, Kyle Williams; Most Promising, Trent Smith; Scholastic Award, Alex Soileau.
Girls’ Track- Most Valuable- Kaydan Coward; Best Track, Vandrayua Wilson; Best Field, Alyssa Fontenot; Most Promising, Aliya Soileau; Coach’s Award, Patience Pitre.
Boy’s Cross Country- Most Valuable, Alex Soileau; Most Outstanding, Alijah Durgin; Most Promising, Micheal Soileau; Hardest Worker, Wesley Vidrine.
Girl’s Cross Country- Most Valuable, Vandryua Wilson; Most Outstanding, Hanna Monier; Hardest Worker, Alyssa Soileau; Most Promising, Destiny Lavigne.

Evangeline Today

145 Court St.
Ville Platte, LA 70586
Phone: 337-363-3939
Fax: 337-363-2841